Coffee grounds, Pedicures and Time for Me

Published 07/11/2015 by glowingnutrition

A few nights ago, as my son slept in his crib, I decided to indulge in a little self-care and gave myself a pedicure. This is no easy feat as up until recently my sweet pea was not sleeping through the night. My poor toes were in dire need of some attention and with sandal season well underway I knew it was time for me to oblige. 

Before I continue, a few things that I adore are nail polish, coffee, and massage. Putting my favorite things together was a fabulous trifecta for a moment of self care that made me relish in the moment despite how late into the evening it was.

First, I soaked my toes in warm water and 1/2 cup of Apple Cider vinegar for 20 minutes. The acetic acid in Vinegar has many benefits: 1) loosens the old skin (softens calluses too) on the surface allowing for moisturizers you apply to absorb into the skin 2) tones the skin 3) refreshes tired toes by reducing inflammation and swelling. Besides the vinegar smell, what is there not to love?

Second, I scrubbed my toes with the Moisturizing Coffee Scrub I made using all-natural ingredients I had in my kitchen. The end result was wonderful. My feet were so gloriously soft and ready for my final steps in shaping and polishing my toes.

All natural and easy to makeHere is the recipe:

Moisturizing Coffee Scrub

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup Ground Coffee beans (finely ground)
  • 1 Tbsp Turbinado Sugar
  • 3 Tbsp Coconut Oil

Mix all ingredients and place in a clean glass jar with a lid. Apply in a circular motion on dampened skin.

Rinse with warm water and voila, your skin will be seductively soft and scented with the smell of coffee. So seductive and wonderful.

Warning: Coconut oil can make the floor in the shower slippery so be careful if you use it there.

Give the recipe a whirl and leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

